Aug 222017
 

Disclaimer: I have about a dozen sources, all of whom are in and around the capitol. I will not go any further than this description in order to protect their identities, most all talked to me off the record. Therefore, all will be off the record. The conversations have given me the rest of the perspective I needed and if the accounts of this post contradict a past post, it is because I believe what I have learned in the last 12 hours to be the most accurate information I can come by.

I had originally believed that I was going to tear in to the Membership for their arrogance against the grassroots or their cowardice for avoiding conflict as I have seen both many times. Instead, it is more related to anarchy in a small group of people, some of whom meet the previous descriptions.

I have been searching for answers over the seemingly bizarre decision of the Assembly Republican Caucus to punt rather than taking a stand on Chad Mayes.

This is what I have been able to discern:

There were 18-20 votes to push the leadership vote to next Tuesday.

They chose not to vacate the chair because they needed to leave someone in place until they could resolve the replacement of Chad Issue. (this is a motive I deduced, not was told specifically) There was motion to vacate the chair that did indeed fail. A contributing factor may have been congressman McCarthy intervening.

There will be a secret ballot as voted on in today’s Caucus Meeting

In today’s meeting, a motion by someone stating if the caucus does not get to 13 for a replacement for Mayes has the effect of re-electing him also failed.

A San Diego Assemblymember, Rocky Chavez tore in to the Republican Grassroots and the San Diego Republican Party specifically about how they did not matter and “how dare they try to pick our leader” (paraphrased by me). He was either preceded or backed up by Jordan Cunningham who ripped in to the grassroots as well. (Apparently, he forgot about the dozens of people that drove to his out of the way district to help him). Cunningham’s incendiary comments included a rant about “who cares what they think, they did not help me at all”…

This anecdote buttressed my gut feeling about the absolute lack or regard or fear of the GOP Groups, Committees or State Party, originally, I believed it was wider-spread (as in caucus wide)… but is more specific to some of the members.

It is, however clear that the partisan electeds know that 90% or more of the GOP / Tea Party Groups out there are ineffective. I went in to detail in my “Burn it Down” series about how to fix that and the concepts in that series were referenced by more than half the sources I spoke to. (It is hard to get people to listen when you don’t have the right voice – I will write about that subject later)

Yesterday, Marc Steinorth demanded the cell phones of all of the members and put them on a table in order to prevent people from recording, texting or tweeting about the meeting. He also blew his stack over leaks in the caucus enabling the unwashed masses to know who to target in their efforts to unseat Chad Mayes.

This has led me to deduce that Chad’s remaining support is Baker, Chavez, Cunningham, Steinorth and himself.

The following people are running for Minority Leader: Jay Obernolte, Melissa Melendez, Brian Dahle, Vince Fong and Frank Bigelow.

IN addition, the Assembly Caucus will be using a “collapsing ballot” for their leadership elections where the bottom vote-getter on each ballot drops off, meaning that the result could be unpredictable.

If your goal is to get Chad, the only monkey wrench is the caucus failing to come to a consensus on the replacement allowing Chad Mayes to slip through multiple votes.

Today, as well, Dante Acosta went one step further than Marc Streinorth, labeling other members as “traitors” for identifying to people (like this blogger) who other activists should target with their contact.

Personal side notes – I called Mike Zimmerman a Cockroach in a heated exchange with the wife of a legislative staffer on facebook. I’ve been a friend of this staffer for many years and know his wife less well – I do not apologize for being upset, but I do apologize for calling Mike Zimmerman a Cockroach. Zimmerman is just wrong for the Republican Caucus and I should have left it there. It has been difficult to not destroy friendships in this argument amongst family.

Also – I’ve asserted that David Stafford Reade wanted Joe Justin’s Job. I was actually referring to the Caucus Chair job held by a man by the name of Richardson. I’ve been told that Mr. Reade is not seeking that job. So I missed on two accounts, and while I have the issues I have with Mr. Reade, I should at least be accurate when I light him up.

Lastly, should Mr. Reade end up with either Zimmerman or Richardson’s Job, it would be a major upgrade for the Republican Party as Reade is a Conservative who would never run a cap and trade drill.

The following is the complete contact list of the members of the Assembly, as this is now a wide open deal:

Assemblyman Dante Acosta
(916) 319-2038 Dante.acosta@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Travis Allen
(916) 319-2072 Travis.allen@asm.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Catharine Baker
(916) 319-2016 Catharine.baker@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Frank Bigelow
(916) 319-2005
Frank.bigelow@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Bill Brough
(916) 319-2073
William.brough@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Phillip Chen
(916) 319-2055
Philip.chen@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Steven Choi
(916) 319-2068
Steven.choi@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Rocky Chavez
(916) 319-2076
Rocky.chavez@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Jordan Cunningham
(916) 319-2035
Jordan.cunningham@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Brian Dahle
(916) 319-2001
Brian.dahle@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Heath Flora
(916) 319-2012
Heath.flora@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Vince Fong
(916) 319-2034
Vince.fong@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman James Gallagher
(916) 319-2003
James.gallagher@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Matthew Harper
(916) 319-2074
Matthew.harper@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Kevin Kiley
(916) 319-2006
Kevin.kiley@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Tom Lackey
(916) 319-2036
Tom.lackey@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Brian Maienschein
(916) 319-2077
Brian.maienschein@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Devon Mathis
(916) 319-2026
Devon.mathis@asm.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Melissa Melendez
(916) 319-2067
Melissa.melendez@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Jay Obernolte
(916) 319-2033
Jay.obernolte@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Jim Patterson
(916) 319-2023
Jim.patterson@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Marc Steinorth
(916) 319-2040
Marc.steinorth@asm.ca.gov

Assemblyman Randy Voepel
(916) 319-2071
Randy.voepel@asm.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Marie Waldron
(916) 319-2075
Marie.waldron@asm.ca.gov

And here are their twitter handles:

@BrianDahleCA
@J_GallagherAD3
@FrankBigelowCA
@KevinKileyCA
@HeathFloraCA
@CBakerAD16
@JimPatterson559
@AD26Mathis
@JayObernolte
@VFong
@Cunning_Jordan
@DanteAcostaSVC
@MarcSteinorth
@PhillipChenCA
@asmMelendez
@DrStevenChoi
@RandyVoepel
@JoinTravisAllen
@Bill_Brough
@AsmHarper
@AsmRocky
@BMaienschein
@ChadMayesCA

And their official government-staff-maintained Facebook page handles:

@brianDahleCA
@ASsmblymemberJamesGallagher
@BigelowforCA
@AssemblymanKiley
@Heath.Flora.7
@AssemblywomanBaker
@AssemblymanJimPatterson
@AssemblymanDevonMathis
@AssemblymanObernolte
@AssmVinceFong
@AsmCunningham
@AssemblymanLackey
@AssemblymanDanteAcosta
@AssemblymanMarcSteinorth
@AssemblymanPhillipChen
@MelissaMelendezCA
@AsmStevenChoi
@RandyVoepel
@JoinTravisAllen
@AssemblymanBillBrough
@AssemblymanHarper
@AssemblymanRocky.Chavez
@BrianKMaienschein
@ChadMayesCA

Marie Waldron
@StateAssembly75

Leave a Reply